返回

全球前景

May 2024

静候减息

尽管美国经济软着陆、欧洲经济增长更趋稳健以及中国和日本的经济活动保持韧性,将有利于风险资产,但货币政策的不确定性仍是经济前景面对的主要风险之一。

Eli Lee
董事总经理,
首席投资策略师,
首席投资官办公室,
新加坡银行有限公司

  • 今年,全球经济出现两种互相矛盾的变化。
  • 首先,主要经济体的增长更趋均衡。
  • 继联储局于2022年及2023年加息后,美国经济增速开始放缓,但由于经济活动依然稳健,我们目前预计2024年不会出现温和衰退。同时,继英国和德国于去年陷入衰退后,欧洲经济已呈现复苏态势。由于通胀率下降为消费提供支持,采购经理人指数(PMI)作为一项重要的信心调查指标,已达到一年来的最高水平。因此,我们认为继去年的扩张无力之后,欧洲GDP增长将开始加速。
  • 同样,事实证明,中国及日本的经济活动较年初的预想更具韧性。2024年第一季度的数据显示中国GDP按年增加5.2%,中国政府仍有望实现全年“约5%”的增长目标,而日本4月的PMI调查创下一年来的最高水平。
  • 其次,相比之下,通胀更具挑战性,导致投资者降低对减息的期望。例如,由于美国经济的强劲增长使通胀率远高于2%的目标,我们认为联储局今年只会于2024年第三季度开始减息两次。2024年初,我们认为联邦基金利率可能从5.25-5.50%水平三度减息。
  • 因此,尽管美国经济软着陆、欧洲经济增长更趋稳健且亚洲的经济活动保持韧性,将有利于全球各地的风险资产,但货币政策的不确定性仍是经济前景面对的主要风险之一,进一步推迟减息将考验金融市场。但重要的是,我们预期央行不会重新开始加息,这一举措将导致全球股票和债券市场大幅下跌。

美国—经济前景的三大变化

  • 继联储局加息后,美国经济增速开始放缓,但仍保持稳健增长。因此,我们作出三项主要变更。
  • 首先,我们预计今年不会出现温和衰退。由于库存、进口因素及美国巨额预算赤字的影响逐渐减弱,经济活动放缓,2024年第一季度的GDP年增长率为1.6%,显著低于2023年第三季度及第四季度的快速增长。但消费和投资保持稳健,显示潜在需求依然强劲。我们预计,随着财政刺激措施及疫情储蓄减少,GDP年增长率将由2023年的2.5%放缓至2024年的2.1%,但预计美国不会陷入衰退,而可能实现软着陆,即增长放缓、通胀率下降及联储局减息。
  • 鉴于疫情后经济前景不明朗,我们预测美国经济走势有以下几种可能性。
  • 不着陆(20%) — 经济增长保持强劲,核心通胀率维持在3%左右,联储局维持高利率,经济不会出现衰退。
  • 软着陆(50%) — 经济增长放缓,核心通胀率跌破3%,联储局减息,经济不会出现衰退。
  • 温和衰退(20%) — 经济增长放缓,核心通胀率跌破3%,联储局减息,但经济连续两个季度萎缩。
  • 硬着陆(10%) — 经济增长放缓,核心通胀率维持在3%左右,联储局维持高利率,之后经济急剧衰退。
  • 其次,由于经济强劲增长使核心通胀率远高于2%的目标,我们认为联储局今年只会由2024年第三季度开始减息两次。第三,我们认为,倘联储局减少减息次数及出现经济软着陆(而非衰退),则美国10年期国债收益率将跌至去年3.25%的低点的机会并不大。因此,我们将12个月收益率预测上调至3.75%。
  • 软着陆将利好风险资产。但投资者仍应看好美国国债,以对冲今年的不明朗前景。目前债券面对的主要风险是,联储局会否恢复加息以抑制通胀或中东的石油危机。然而,联储局似乎愿意对通胀保持耐心,因此不大可能决定今年再次加息而致使美国10年期国债收益率进一步上升。

中国—尽管面临阻碍,但增长更为稳健

  • 中国GDP已连续两个季度达到政府设定全年“约5%”的增长目标。于2024年第一季度,中国经济较去年增长5.3%,略高于2023年第四季度5.2%的按年增长率。
  • 最新数据支持了我们的观点,即中国去年自疫情后复苏的乏力表现并不意味着经济将陷入长期停滞。相反,我们预计继2023年经济增长率达到5.2%后,2024年全年GDP增长率将维持在5.0%。
  • 2024年第一季度GDP报告及3月份数据显示,中国经济仍面临多方面阻碍。经过三年的封锁措施后,消费已见放缓,零售额按年仅增加3.1%。由于新贷款需求持续疲弱,加上公众对房地产的信心持续低迷,信贷增长亦表现疲弱,按年仅增加8.7%。3月,信贷行业投资按年显著下跌9.5%。
  • 但营商气氛再次渐见明朗。由于政府加大对策略性产业的贷款支持,3月制造业及基建投资分别按年增长9.9%及6.5%。4月的PMI显示,制造业信心经历一整年收缩后,连续两个月呈现扩张趋势。因此,我们认为,在中国金融市场经历2021年至2023年的下跌后,今年的稳定增长将为风险资产奠定基础。

欧洲—静候减息

  • 今年,由于通胀率下降为消费提供支持,欧洲经济增长开始加速,PMI已达到一年来的最高水平。因此,我们认为继去年的扩张无力及衰退之后,欧洲GDP增长将开始加速。
  • 更强劲的增长将为地区金融市场提供支持。此外,随着通胀率回落,欧洲央行与英伦银行这两大央行仍有望于今夏开始减息。我们预计欧洲央行将由6月开始对4.00%的存款利率进行三次季度下调,每次下调25个基点,而英伦银行可能由8月开始对5.25%的银行利率进行下调。今年经济增长趋于稳健且利率下降,将利好欧洲风险资产。

日本—继3月加息后,日本央行于4月表现温和

  • 日本央行在今年3月的会议迎来自2007年以来首次加息,而在上月,日本央行一如市场预期,将隔夜拆借利率维持在0.00-0.10%之间。但日本央行保持出人意料的鸽派立场,这有利于日本股市。
  • 首先,日本央行已发表新预测,预计核心通胀率将保持在目标通胀率2%左右,同时表示将继续采取3月份会议所商定的量化宽松政策。
  • 其次,央行表示需维持宽松货币政策以支持经济复苏。第三,植田行长的言论淡化日圆疲弱对通胀的影响。 
  • 我们认为鸽派官员今年可能只会考虑再加息一次,幅度为15-25个基点,令日本央行隔夜利率由0.00-0.10%上调至0.15-0.25%或0.25-0.35%,以持续轻微抑制通胀。因此,日本央行今年将继续支持日本股市。

资料来源:新加坡银行

资料来源:新加坡银行

重要信息

本广告未经新加坡金融管理局审查。

为便于参考,本文件已被翻译成中文。英文原文与中文译文之间有任何差异或不一致,以英文原文为准

本文信息仅用作供一般公众使用以及/或者讨论之目的,其未考虑任何特定人士的具体投资目标、财务状况或特别需要。本文件中的信息不构成研究分析或者推荐建议,因而不应当视作研究分析或者推荐建议。

在不违背上述总体性说明的情况下,请您在做出购买投资产品的承诺前请财务顾问将您的具体投资目标、财务状况或特别需要纳入考虑并就任何投资产品的适合性向其寻求意见。如果您选择不向财务顾问寻求建议,您应当考虑该等产品是否适合您。本段的说明不构成购买或销售或认购任何证券或金融工具或达成意向交易或参与任何特定交易或投资战略的要约或请求。投资有风险,包括投资本金的可能亏损

本文所载信息可能包含对未来事件或某些国家、资产、市场或公司未来表现的预测或其他前瞻性表述。实际发生的事件或结果可能存在重大差异。针对过往表现的数据未必能够推测未来或可能发生的表现。无论以何种方式提及具体公司、理财产品或者资产类别均仅用于说明性目的,而不构成对前述的推荐。

本行、其连属公司、其相关董事及/或雇员(统称关联方”)将来或许或可能在本协议所述投资产品或发行人中拥有利益。这些利益包括影响此类投资产品的交易,并向此类发行者提供经纪、投资理财及其他金融服务。本行及其关联方也可能与此类投资产品的提供者有关联,并从其收取费用。

针对本文所述的任何信息(包括但不限于任何说明、数字、意见、观点或评估),华侨银行均不作出任何陈述与保证(包括但不限于关于信息准确性、实用性、充分性、时效性或完整性的任何陈述与保证),并且任何人不得依赖华侨银行就前述信息作出任何陈述与保证。华侨银行不承担更新信息或更正本文中任何在之后可能变得明显的不准确之处的义务。本文所述所有信息可以不经通知而更改。华侨银行不应当对任何人基于本文所述的任何信息而作出的行为承担责任或对由该等行为直接或间接引起、或与该等行为相关的或导致的任何损失或损害负责。

未经华侨银行书面同意,本文内容不得全部或部分复制或传播。

本文内容是对新加坡银行和华侨银行报告中的投资意见和建议之概述。就前述两个实体对投资产品和/或证券发行人可能存在的利害关系请参见它们各自的研究报告。

跨境营销免责声明

获取与您居住的国家相关的华侨银行跨境营销免责声明

Back to listing

Global Outlook

May 2024

Waiting for rate cuts

While a soft landing for the US, firmer growth in Europe and resilient activity in China and Japan will benefit risk assets, uncertainty about monetary policy continues to be a key risk to the outlook.

Eli Lee
Managing Director,
Chief Investment Strategist,
Chief Investment Office,
Bank of Singapore Limited

The global economy is seeing two conflicting changes this year.

First, growth is becoming more balanced across the major economies.

The US has begun to slow after the Fed’s interest rate hikes in 2022 and 2023. But activity remains solid - so we no longer expect a mild recession in 2024 now. At the same time, growth has begun to pick up in Europe after the UK and Germany fell into recession last year. Purchasing manager indices (PMI) - a key survey of confidence - have reached their strongest levels in a year as falling inflation supports consumption. We thus see GDP growth beginning to improve in Europe after last year’s weak expansions.

Similarly, activity in China and Japan is proving more resilient than feared at the start of the year. The Chinese government remains on track to achieve its annual target of “around 5% growth” after 1Q2024 data showed GDP expanded by 5.2% compared to a year ago while April’s PMI survey hit its highest level for a year in Japan.

Second, inflation, in contrast, is proving more challenging causing investors to scale back their expectations for interest rate cuts. For example, we think the Fed will now only reduce interest rates twice this year, starting in 3Q2024, as firm US growth has kept inflation well above its 2% target. At the start of 2024, we thought three cuts were likely to the fed funds rate of 5.25-5.50%.

Thus, while a soft landing in the US, firmer growth in Europe and resilient activity in Asia will benefit risk assets globally, uncertainty about monetary policy continues to be a key risk to the outlook. Further rate cut delays would test financial markets. But importantly we do not expect central banks to re-start rate hikes - a development that would cause major declines in equity and bond markets around the world.

US – Three key changes to the outlook

The US economy has begun to slow after the Fed’s rate hikes but growth still remains solid. We thus make three key changes.

First, we no longer expect a mild recession this year. In 1Q2024, GDP expanded at a 1.6% annualised rate - sharply lower than its fast growth in 3Q2023 and 4Q2023 - as inventories, imports and the fading impact of America’s large budget deficit slowed activity. But consumption and investment were firm showing underlying demand is still strong. We expect annual GDP growth will slow from 2.5% in 2023 to 2.1% in 2024 as fiscal stimulus and pandemic savings ease. But instead of a recession, the US seems set for a soft landing of easing growth, falling inflation and Fed rate cuts.

Given the uncertain outlook after the pandemic, we ascribe the following probabilities for the US.

No Landing (20%) - growth remains strong, core inflation stays nears 3%, the Fed keeps interest rates high, and the economy avoids a recession.

Soft Landing (50%) - growth slows, core inflation falls below 3%, the Fed cuts rates and the economy avoids a recession.

Mild recession (20%) – growth slows, core inflation falls below 3%, the Fed cuts interest rates but the economy shrinks for two quarters.

Hard landing (10%) - growth slows, core inflation stays near 3%, the Fed keeps interest rates high, the economy suffers a deeper downturn later.

Second, we think the Fed will only reduce interest rates twice this year, starting in 3Q2024, as firm growth has kept core inflation well above its 2% goal. Third, we think fewer Fed rate cuts and a soft landing rather than a recession makes it unlikely 10Y US Treasury (UST) yields will fall back to last year’s lows of 3.25%. We thus raise our 12-month forecast to 3.75%.

A soft landing will support risk assets. But investors should still favour UST to hedge against the uncertain outlook this year. The key risks now to bonds are whether the Fed will resume rate hikes to curb inflation or an oil shock from the Middle East. The Fed, however, seems willing to be patient on inflation and thus appears unlikely to shock 10Y US Treasury yields higher from their current levels by deciding to increase interest rates again this year.

China – Firmer growth despite weak spots

For the second quarter in a row, China’s GDP expanded in line with the government’s annual target of “around 5% growth”. In 1Q2024, the economy was 5.3% larger than a year ago, slightly up from its 5.2% year-on-year (YoY) growth rate in 4Q2023.

The latest data supports our view that China’s lacklustre reopening from the pandemic last year was not the start of a prolonged period of stagnation. Instead, we expect GDP growth for 2024 as a whole will be solid at 5.0% after the economy expanded by 5.2% in 2023.

The 1Q2024 GDP report and March’s data show China’s weak spots remain. Consumption has dimmed after three years of lockdowns with retail sales only rising 3.1% YoY. Credit growth is also weak, up only 8.7% YoY as demand for new loans remains subdued, and confidence in real estate continues be low. Investment in the sector contracted sharply by 9.5% YoY in March.

But business sentiment is picking up again. Manufacturing and infrastructure investment increased 9.9% YoY and 6.5% YoY in March supported by stronger government borrowing for strategic industries. April’s PMIs showed manufacturing confidence in expansionary territory for the second month in a row after a full year of contraction. We thus see stabilising growth putting a floor under risk assets this year after China’s financial markets fell from 2021 to 2023.

Europe – Waiting to cut interest rates

This year, growth has begun to pick up in Europe with PMIs at their strongest levels in a year as falling inflation supports consumption. We thus see GDP growth beginning to improve in Europe after last year’s weak expansions and recessions.

Firmer growth will support the region’s financial markets. In addition, the two largest central banks - the European Central Bank (ECB) and the Bank of England (BOE) - both remain on track to start cutting interest rates this summer as inflation recedes. We expect the ECB will make three 25 basis point (bps) quarterly cuts to its 4.00% deposit rate from June while the BOE will likely start in August reducing its Bank Rate from 5.25%. Firmer growth and lower interest rates will benefit European risk assets this year.

Japan – The BOJ was dovish in April after its March hike

Last month, the Bank of Japan (BOJ) kept its overnight call interest rate at 0.00-0.10% - as widely expected - after raising interest rates at its prior meeting in March for the first time since 2007. But the BOJ kept a surprisingly dovish stance to the benefit of Japanese equities.

First, the BOJ issued new forecasts predicting core inflation would settle around its 2% target but said it would continue with quantitative easing as agreed at its meeting in March.

Second, the central bank said monetary conditions would need to stay loose to support the economy and third, Governor Ueda played down the weakness of the Yen on inflation.

We think dovish officials may only consider one further 15-25bps rate hike now this year, raising the BOJ’s overnight rate from 0.00-0.10% to either 0.15-0.25% or 0.25-0.35% to keep lightly curbing inflation. The BOJ is therefore set to continue supporting Japan’s equities this year.

Source: Bank of Singapore

Source: Bank of Singapore

Important Information

The information provided herein is intended for general circulation and/or discussion purposes only. It does not take into account the specific investment objectives, financial situation or particular needs of any particular person. The information in this document is not intended to constitute research analysis or recommendation and should not be treated as such.

Without prejudice to the generality of the foregoing, please seek advice from a financial adviser regarding the suitability of any investment product taking into account your specific investment objectives, financial situation or particular needs before you make a commitment to purchase the investment product. In the event that you choose not to seek advice from a financial adviser, you should consider whether the product in question is suitable for you. This does not constitute an offer or solicitation to buy or sell or subscribe for any security or financial instrument or to enter into a transaction or to participate in any particular trading or investment strategy.

The information provided herein may contain projections or other forward looking statement regarding future events or future performance of countries, assets, markets or companies. Actual events or results may differ materially. Past performance figures are not necessarily indicative of future or likely performance. Any reference to any specific company, financial product or asset class in whatever way is used for illustrative purposes only and does not constitute a recommendation on the same. Investments are subject to investment risks, including the possible loss of the principal amount invested.

The Bank, its related companies, their respective directors and/or employees (collectively “Related Persons”) may or might have in the future interests in the investment products or the issuers mentioned herein. Such interests include effecting transactions in such investment products, and providing broking, investment banking and other financial services to such issuers. The Bank and its Related Persons may also be related to, and receive fees from, providers of such investment products.

No representation or warranty whatsoever (including without limitation any representation or warranty as to accuracy, usefulness, adequacy, timeliness or completeness) in respect of any information (including without limitation any statement, figures, opinion, view or estimate) provided herein is given by OCBC Bank and it should not be relied upon as such. OCBC Bank does not undertake an obligation to update the information or to correct any inaccuracy that may become apparent at a later time. All information presented is subject to change without notice. OCBC Bank shall not be responsible or liable for any loss or damage whatsoever arising directly or indirectly howsoever in connection with or as a result of any person acting on any information provided herein.

The contents hereof may not be reproduced or disseminated in whole or in part without OCBC Bank's written consent. The contents are a summary of the investment ideas and recommendations set out in Bank of Singapore and OCBC Bank reports. Please refer to the respective research report for the interest that the entity might have in the investment products and/or issuers of the securities.

Investments are subject to investment risks, including the possible loss of the principal amount invested. The information provided herein may contain projections or other forward-looking statements regarding future events or future performance of countries, assets, markets or companies. Actual events or results may differ materially. Past performance figures, predictions or projections are not necessarily indicative of future or likely performance.

This advertisement has not been reviewed by the Monetary Authority of Singapore.

This document may be translated into the Chinese language. If there is any difference between the English and Chinese versions, the English version will apply.

Cross-Border Marketing Disclaimers

OCBC Bank's cross border marketing disclaimers relevant for your country of residence.

Any opinions or views of third parties expressed in this document are those of the third parties identified, and do not represent views of Oversea-Chinese Banking Corporation Limited (“OCBC Bank”, “us”, “we” or “our”).