返回

外汇和商品

May 2024

黄金前景乐观

我们看好黄金的前景,在央行买入黄金、美国财政可持续性令人忧虑及预计今年稍后时间将会减息等利好因素带动下,黄金成为投资组合中的一项有效分散投资的工具。

Vasu Menon
董事总经理,
投资策略,
财富管理部(新加坡),
华侨银行

石油

  • 石油输出国组织与伙伴国的闲置产能增加应有助削弱布兰特油价持续升穿100美元/桶的风险。石油输出国组织近期重申其供应政策,将近期减产延长至6月底。然而,这将造成每天产生约600万桶的闲置产能。鉴于目前的闲置产能过剩,石油输出国组织与伙伴国可能于2024年第三季度逐步提高产量,为石油市场降温。如果其他地区的供应中断,石油输出国组织与伙伴国增产的可能性可能会进一步上升。 
  • 根据我们的基本预期,中东局势将持续紧张,但不会大幅升级。以色列对伊朗的直接袭击作出有节制的反应,而伊朗对此反应平静,显示冲突升级的风险仍然受控,至少目前如此。我们对3个月布兰特原油价格的预测维持不变,为89美元/桶。不过,地缘政治风险升级确实意味着油价将在更长时间内保持在较高水平,并且随着非石油输出国组织国家供应的增加,油价回落的速度可能会减慢。我们将12个月布兰特原油价格预测由75美元/桶上调至80美元/桶。

黄金

  • 对于担心地缘政治的投资者来说,构建稳健的投资组合及分散投资是第一道防线。作为一项安全投资指标,黄金在地缘政治长期不确定时期最有价值。我们整体上看好今年的黄金前景,而地缘政治风险的对冲价值一直是黄金投资的重要部分。
  • 除作为负面地缘政治冲击的可靠对冲工具外,黄金在联储局减息周期开始时受到进一步的利好因素带动。我们已将12个月金价目标上调至每盎司2,500美元。我们预期联储局将于2024年第三季度开始减息,预计今年将减息两次。
  • 需求的结构性转变将为金价提供支持,而不受宏观因素的影响。首先,在美国在俄罗斯于2022年入侵乌克兰后,以美元作为武器对其实施制裁后,新兴市场央行加大了黄金购买力度。其次,由于房地产及股市投资回报令人失望,且存款利率处于低水平,中国散户投资者的黄金购买量有所增加。第三,在11月总统大选之前,投资者重新关注美国财政赤字及债务占GDP的比例不断上升,可被视为引起结构性忧虑但利好黄金的另一项特征。

货币

  • 美元指数4月收涨1.7%。超出预期的美国就业数据,加上通胀报告,导致未来需要进行新一轮的联邦基金利率调整。截至4月30日,市场已将联储局首次减息时间由之前的7月推迟到2024年11月,年内累计减息幅度为35个基点,而一个月前预计为67个基点。
  • 美国通胀与世界其他地区(包括欧洲、瑞士、加拿大及中国)的差异,亦导致联储局与其他央行(包括欧洲央行、瑞士国家银行、加拿大银行及中国央行(中国人民银行))的政策分歧加深,亦推动美元走强。鉴于美元的收益率优势及美国例外论的说法,美元可能会继续受到支持,直至美国数据开始显示出更多疲弱迹象或联储局的强硬立场软化。就今年而言,我们仍预计,在联储局结束紧缩政策并及时启动减息周期后,美元将于年底前略为回落。
  • 在欧元区和德国经济增长可能出现企稳迹象的观点得到数据支持后,欧元于4月收回月初的部分亏损。此外,中东地缘政治紧张局势有所缓和,利好依赖能源的欧元区。欧洲央行多位官员声称6月减息,但此后的利率轨迹仍不确定。截至4月29日,市场基本上已消化欧洲央行于6月6日举行的下次政策会议上首次减息的预期,而年内市场已消化三次减息预期。虽然市场可能已在很大程度上消化了欧洲央行减息对欧元的影响,但欧元区经济增长前景的重新评级可能尚未被消化。最近,有迹象显示欧元区的经济增长趋于稳定。欧洲央行行长拉加德和德国联邦银行最近谈及德国经济活动加速的迹象。对欧元区来说,德国经济增长意味着欧洲央行进取的减息预期可能会造成经济反弹,从而利好欧元。
  • 美元兑日圆汇率的近期波幅较往常更大。价格行动亦引发市场对日圆干预的讨论,但并未得到证实,因为最高级别货币官员神田真人(Masato Kanda)拒绝透露有关当局是否进行了干预。不过,根据日本央行每日经常性收支报告的初步估计,4月29日的干预规模约为5.5万亿日圆。由于联储局与日本央行的政策分歧,美国国债收益率与日本政府债券收益率之间依然存在较大差距,美元兑日圆可能仍有支持。日本央行迫切实施政策正常化,以及财政部进行货币干预,可能较财政部单独行动更为有效。当然,美元走弱将有利于日圆,这将取决于美国数据。短期而言,我们仍不排除可能出现双向波动,因为市场可能会再次尝试考验日圆。但我们认为,有关当局至少应尝试限制高点(即降低高点,以确保干预工作不会白费)。从中期来看,由于市场预期联储局下一步将减息,而且在日本服务业通胀及工资压力上升的情况下,日本央行可能会进一步实施政策正常化,我们预计美元兑日圆将逐渐走低。
  • 美国长期高利率、地缘政治风险及人民币兑日圆再次波动,可能会在短期内影响大部份亚洲货币。具体而言,对能源价格、收益率及中国因素高度敏感的亚洲货币包括韩元、新台币、日圆、泰铢等。尽管如此,亚洲的决策者亦被视为采取更积极的立场,以缓和单边走势。4月18日,七国集团确认了一份关于货币的声明,日本、韩国及美国财长就货币问题发表了一份联合声明,中国人民银行亦就人民币发表意见。这可能不是1985年的广场协议,但七国集团就外汇走势发表评论的声明可能足以为美元建立心理阻力。除七国集团外,中国人民银行及南韩央行等区内央行亦发表意见(似乎是经过协调的口头干预),应会为若干受严重打击的区内货币(如韩元和日圆)提供较长的喘息时间,并安抚市场对人民币的情绪,这亦将利好马来西亚令吉。七国集团上一次对汇率波动发出警告是在2022年10月12日,当时适逢美元达到历史峰值。
重要信息

本广告未经新加坡金融管理局审查。

为便于参考,本文件已被翻译成中文。英文原文与中文译文之间有任何差异或不一致,以英文原文为准

本文信息仅用作供一般公众使用以及/或者讨论之目的,其未考虑任何特定人士的具体投资目标、财务状况或特别需要。本文件中的信息不构成研究分析或者推荐建议,因而不应当视作研究分析或者推荐建议。

在不违背上述总体性说明的情况下,请您在做出购买投资产品的承诺前请财务顾问将您的具体投资目标、财务状况或特别需要纳入考虑并就任何投资产品的适合性向其寻求意见。如果您选择不向财务顾问寻求建议,您应当考虑该等产品是否适合您。本段的说明不构成购买或销售或认购任何证券或金融工具或达成意向交易或参与任何特定交易或投资战略的要约或请求。投资有风险,包括投资本金的可能亏损

本文所载信息可能包含对未来事件或某些国家、资产、市场或公司未来表现的预测或其他前瞻性表述。实际发生的事件或结果可能存在重大差异。针对过往表现的数据未必能够推测未来或可能发生的表现。无论以何种方式提及具体公司、理财产品或者资产类别均仅用于说明性目的,而不构成对前述的推荐。

本行、其连属公司、其相关董事及/或雇员(统称关联方”)将来或许或可能在本协议所述投资产品或发行人中拥有利益。这些利益包括影响此类投资产品的交易,并向此类发行者提供经纪、投资理财及其他金融服务。本行及其关联方也可能与此类投资产品的提供者有关联,并从其收取费用。

针对本文所述的任何信息(包括但不限于任何说明、数字、意见、观点或评估),华侨银行均不作出任何陈述与保证(包括但不限于关于信息准确性、实用性、充分性、时效性或完整性的任何陈述与保证),并且任何人不得依赖华侨银行就前述信息作出任何陈述与保证。华侨银行不承担更新信息或更正本文中任何在之后可能变得明显的不准确之处的义务。本文所述所有信息可以不经通知而更改。华侨银行不应当对任何人基于本文所述的任何信息而作出的行为承担责任或对由该等行为直接或间接引起、或与该等行为相关的或导致的任何损失或损害负责。

未经华侨银行书面同意,本文内容不得全部或部分复制或传播。

本文内容是对新加坡银行和华侨银行报告中的投资意见和建议之概述。就前述两个实体对投资产品和/或证券发行人可能存在的利害关系请参见它们各自的研究报告。

跨境营销免责声明

获取与您居住的国家相关的华侨银行跨境营销免责声明

Back to listing

FX & Commodities

May 2024

Positive on gold

We remain positive on gold, which is an effective portfolio diversifier amidst favourable drivers, such as central bank buying, US fiscal sustainability fears and anticipated rate cuts later in the year.

Vasu Menon
Managing Director,
Investment Strategy,
Wealth Management Singapore,
OCBC Bank

Oil

Elevated OPEC+ spare production capacity should help limit the risk of a sustained break of Brent oil over US$100/barrel (bbl). OPEC recently reiterated its supply policy, with recent production cuts extended until the end of June. However, that leaves it with approximately 6 million barrel per day of spare capacity. OPEC+ could gradually raise production in 3Q2024 given current high spare capacity, which in turn could cool the oil market. The probability of production increases by OPEC+ will likely rise further if supply were disrupted elsewhere.

Our base case is for tensions to remain high in the Middle East but stop short of meaningful escalation. The muted reaction by Iran to the measured nature of Israel’s response to direct attack by Iran suggests that the risk of conflict escalation remains in check, at least for now. We kept our 3-month Brent forecast unchanged at US$89/bbl. But higher geopolitical risk does mean that oil prices will stay high for longer and may be slower to ease off in response to growing non-OPEC supply. We have lifted our 12-month Brent oil forecast to US$80/bbl from US$75/bbl.

Gold

Robust portfolio construction and diversification represent the first line of defense for investors worried about geopolitics. As a proxy for safety, gold is most valuable in periods of prolonged geopolitical uncertainty. Our broad view of gold coming into this year has been constructive, and the hedging value for geopolitical risk has been an important part of that case.

Besides being a reliable hedge against negative geopolitical shocks, gold could enjoy further tailwinds once the Federal Reserve rate cut cycle gets going. We have lifted the 12-month gold price target to US$2,500/ounce. We expect the Fed to start cutting rates in 3Q2024 and see two cuts this year.

There are structural shifts in demand that will support gold, independent of the macro backdrop. First, central banks in Emerging Markets have stepped up gold buying after the US weaponised the US Dollar in its sanctions against Russia for its invasion of Ukraine in 2022. Second, retail gold buying in China has increased as returns from property and stock market investments disappoint, and deposit rates remain low. Third, renewed focus on fiscal deficits and rising debt-to-GDP ratios in the US ahead of the Presidential elections in November can be seen as another feature of brewing structural fear with a positive influence on gold.

Currency

The US Dollar (USD) Index (DXY) closed 1.7% higher for the month of April. Stronger-than-expected US payrolls and inflation reports led to another round of hawkish repricing for the Fed funds rate in future. As of 30 April, markets have pushed back the timing of the first US Federal Reserve (Fed) rate cut to November 2024 (from July previously) and for the year, a cumulative 35 basis points (bps) of cuts versus 67bps expected a month earlier.

The divergence in US inflation versus the rest of the world, including Europe, Switzerland, Canada and China has also resulted in a deepening of Fed policy divergence versus other central banks including the European Central Bank (ECB), Swiss National Bank (SNB), Bank of Canada (BOC) and the Chinese central bank (PBOC). This is also adding to USD strength. Given the USD’s yield advantage and the US exceptionalism narrative, the USD may continue to stay supported until US data starts to show more signs of softening or when the Fed’s hawkish rhetoric softens. For the year, we still expect the USD to trend slightly lower towards year-end once the Fed is done tightening and embarks on a rate-cut cycle in time.

The Euro (EUR) partially reversed early-month losses in April after data supported the view that growth conditions in the Euro-area and Germany may be showing signs of stabilisation. Elsewhere, geopolitical tensions in the Middle East eased somewhat, which benefits the energy-dependent Euro-area. Comments from various ECB officials have pointed to a June rate cut, but the rate path trajectory beyond that remains uncertain. As of 29 April, markets have largely priced in a first rate-cut occurring at the ECB’s next policy meeting on 6 June, and for the year, markets priced in three rate cuts. While markets may have largely priced in ECB rate-cuts into the EUR, a re-rating of the growth outlook for the Euro-area economy is probably not priced in. And lately, there are signs to suggest a stabilisation in the Euro-area’s growth. ECB’s Lagarde and the Bundesbank have recently spoken about signs of activity gathering pace in Germany. A better growth story for the Euro-area means that aggressive rate-cut expectations from the ECB could see a pushback – which is supportive of the EUR.

The USD-Japanese Yen (USDJPY) cross rate has been more choppy than usual recently. Price action has also spurred market chatter of JPY intervention. There was no confirmation as top currency official Masato Kanda declined to say if the authorities intervened. But initial estimates based on the Bank of Japan’s (BOJ’s) daily reporting of current balances suggested intervention of about Y5.5tn on 29 April. Given the still wide gap between US Treasury yields and Japanese Government Bond yields amid Fed-BOJ policy divergence, dips in the USDJPY may still find support. A combination of the BOJ demonstrating urgency to normalise policy and the Ministry of Finance (MOF) conducting currency intervention may perhaps be more effective than the MOF doing a solo. Of course, a less strong USD will be helpful to the JPY. This will be dependent on US data. Near term, we still do not rule out two-way swings as markets may make another attempt to test the JPY. But we reckon that the authorities should at least attempt to limit the high (i.e. lower the highs to ensure that intervention efforts are not wasted). Over the medium term, we expect USDJPY to trend gradually lower on expectations that the next move from the Fed is a rate-cut and that the BOJ has room to further pursue policy normalisation amid higher services inflation and wage pressures in Japan.

The combination of high for longer interest rates in the US, geopolitical risks, and renewed volatility in the Chinese Renminbi (RMB) and JPY may impact most Asian currencies in the near term. In particular, the Asian currencies that are highly sensitive to energy prices, yield and China factors are the Korean Won (KRW), Taiwanese Dollar (TWD), JPY and Thai Baht (THB). That said, policymakers in the region are also seen taking a more proactive stance in smoothing out the one-sided moves. On 18 April, there was confirmation of a G7 statement on currencies, a joint statement issued by the finance ministers of Japan, Korea and the US on currencies, along with the PBOC commenting on the RMB. It may not be akin to the 1985 Plaza Accord, but a G7 statement commenting on currency moves may be good enough to setup a psychological resistance for USD. It was not just the G7, but the PBOC and Bank of Korea (BOK) amongst regional central banks weighing in (it felt like coordinated verbal intervention). This should provide an extended breather for some of the worst-hit regional currencies such as KRW and JPY, and calm sentiment towards the RMB. This will also help to support the MYR. The last time the G7 warned against currency volatility was on 12 October 2022, it coincided with a peak for the USD then.

Important Information

The information provided herein is intended for general circulation and/or discussion purposes only. It does not take into account the specific investment objectives, financial situation or particular needs of any particular person. The information in this document is not intended to constitute research analysis or recommendation and should not be treated as such.

Without prejudice to the generality of the foregoing, please seek advice from a financial adviser regarding the suitability of any investment product taking into account your specific investment objectives, financial situation or particular needs before you make a commitment to purchase the investment product. In the event that you choose not to seek advice from a financial adviser, you should consider whether the product in question is suitable for you. This does not constitute an offer or solicitation to buy or sell or subscribe for any security or financial instrument or to enter into a transaction or to participate in any particular trading or investment strategy.

The information provided herein may contain projections or other forward looking statement regarding future events or future performance of countries, assets, markets or companies. Actual events or results may differ materially. Past performance figures are not necessarily indicative of future or likely performance. Any reference to any specific company, financial product or asset class in whatever way is used for illustrative purposes only and does not constitute a recommendation on the same. Investments are subject to investment risks, including the possible loss of the principal amount invested.

The Bank, its related companies, their respective directors and/or employees (collectively “Related Persons”) may or might have in the future interests in the investment products or the issuers mentioned herein. Such interests include effecting transactions in such investment products, and providing broking, investment banking and other financial services to such issuers. The Bank and its Related Persons may also be related to, and receive fees from, providers of such investment products.

No representation or warranty whatsoever (including without limitation any representation or warranty as to accuracy, usefulness, adequacy, timeliness or completeness) in respect of any information (including without limitation any statement, figures, opinion, view or estimate) provided herein is given by OCBC Bank and it should not be relied upon as such. OCBC Bank does not undertake an obligation to update the information or to correct any inaccuracy that may become apparent at a later time. All information presented is subject to change without notice. OCBC Bank shall not be responsible or liable for any loss or damage whatsoever arising directly or indirectly howsoever in connection with or as a result of any person acting on any information provided herein.

The contents hereof may not be reproduced or disseminated in whole or in part without OCBC Bank's written consent. The contents are a summary of the investment ideas and recommendations set out in Bank of Singapore and OCBC Bank reports. Please refer to the respective research report for the interest that the entity might have in the investment products and/or issuers of the securities.

Investments are subject to investment risks, including the possible loss of the principal amount invested. The information provided herein may contain projections or other forward-looking statements regarding future events or future performance of countries, assets, markets or companies. Actual events or results may differ materially. Past performance figures, predictions or projections are not necessarily indicative of future or likely performance.

This advertisement has not been reviewed by the Monetary Authority of Singapore.

This document may be translated into the Chinese language. If there is any difference between the English and Chinese versions, the English version will apply.

Foreign Currency disclaimer

  1. Foreign currency investments or deposits are subject to inherent exchange rate fluctuation that may provide opportunities and risks. Consequently, exchange rate fluctuations may affect the value of your foreign currency investments or deposits.
  2. Earning on foreign currency investments or deposits may change depending on the exchange rates prevalent at the time of their maturity if you choose to convert.
  3. Exchange controls may apply to certain foreign currencies from time to time.
  4. Any pre-termination costs will be taken and deducted from your deposit directly and without notice.

Cross-Border Marketing Disclaimers

OCBC Bank's cross border marketing disclaimers relevant for your country of residence.

Collective Investment Schemes

  1. A copy of the prospectus of each fund is available and may be obtained from the fund manager or any of its approved distributors. Potential investors should read the prospectus for details on the relevant fund before deciding whether to subscribe for, or purchase units in the fund.
  2. The value of the units in the funds and the income accruing to the units, if any, may fall or rise. Please refer to the prospectus of the relevant fund for the name of the fund manager and the investment objectives of the fund.
  3. Investment involves risks. Past performance figures do not reflect future performance.
  4. Any reference to a company, financial product or asset class is used for illustrative purposes and does not represent our recommendation in any way.
  5. For funds that are listed on an approved exchange, investors cannot redeem their units of those funds with the manager or may only redeem units with the manager under certain specified conditions. The listing of the units of those funds on any approved exchange does not guarantee a liquid market for the units.
  6. The indicative distribution rate may not be achieved and is not an indication, forecast, or projection of the future performance of the Fund.

Any opinions or views of third parties expressed in this document are those of the third parties identified, and do not represent views of Oversea-Chinese Banking Corporation Limited (“OCBC Bank”, “us”, “we” or “our”).